//
you're reading...
adolescents, B, english, Flow (all posts), maps, writing

Alicia’s Map

Spring Break Assigment:

1) A book that relates to my senior project is Ophelia Specks by Sara Shandler. This book is filled with more than a hundred stories from girls talking about their insecurities. This book inspired me to create my senior project which is to collect stories from girls who are my age about insecurities and how they feel about it.

2) I had a email conversation with one of my friends in another school about my project.

Hey Lourdes,
When i become a senior next year I am creating a project. Currently at school now I am researching about it and coming up with ideas of what I want to do. With the help of my piers I have come up with creating a book about the insecurities about teenage girls. I would like teenage girls to take part of this as well so I want to ask teenage girls to write stories and poems about their insecurities. I would like to know what you think of this?
Reply Forward

Hi Alicia,
I think your idea of making this book just for girls would make a great project. Many girls would be able to learn about the lives of other teenage girls who are going through a rough time in their lives or facing a problem at home. In my opinion, girls would be able to relate with the stories and poems about certain insecurities that teenagers face today. What is the purpose of your idea? How do you want  other teenage girls to feel once they read this book ?

3) A movie that has a lot to do with teenage insecurities is the movie Mean Girls. When you think of the movie you find it funny and thats what you pay attention to but when you take out the funnyness you can see that a lot of the girls in that movie have insecurities about their body, their hair, the way they dress. They all feel the need to follow Regina George. They see her as someone is perfect and flawless

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Alicia’s Map

  1. My area of focus is English because i love creative writing. I have no idea what i want to do for my senior project

    Posted by Alicia Maldonado | April 8, 2011, 3:27 pm
  2. At first i had no idea what i wanted to do my senior project on. After talking to a couple of people i still had no clue. Finally i talked to sharon and she helped a lot. For my senior project i want to create a book of poems for girls who feel insecure about themselves. I want to let them no that they are not alone

    Posted by Alicia Maldonado | April 10, 2011, 7:50 pm
  3. I like your idea, maybe you can look into why girls feel this way. And not every girl has the same insecurities. And guys get insecure too but they’re not as big on showing it.

    Posted by Stephanie | April 24, 2011, 1:03 pm
  4. I love this idea! It is amazing that you want to create a book of poems for girls who feel insecure. I can’t wait to see it.

    Posted by Emily | April 28, 2011, 9:41 am
  5. Hey Alicia ~ Lourdes had some great questions/ideas. How would you respond to those?

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 29, 2011, 10:34 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Piel’s Spring Break Book Responses « Flow // - April 23, 2011

Leave a Reply

