//
you're reading...
Flow (all posts), maps, psychology

Aliza’s Map

Update: 04/28

1. For the first activity I watched a lot of Criminal Minds and law and order, just to get ideas for killers and them M.O.s’. I realized that I wanted to make my mystery about a deranged killer, or perhaps and organized killer, so the audience or player of the game I am hoping to make will have the thrill of meeting the killer already, but unaware of it until it is too late. I want to see their reaction to the killer and his or her mental state.

2. I played a mystery RPG called SLEUTH. SLEUTH is basically a series of detective role playing games. I realized I wanted to have a unique and painfully difficult mystery to present to those who I hope will play my game. I do like the way SLEUTH is set up but I was hoping for the player to game relationship would be closer to that of the Fable series (preferably fable three). I want every choice the players make to have a deep and obvious impact on the mystery in the game, and I hope that the players would be aware of that impact.

3. My friend, Mark (who’s last name shall go unsaid due to his specific request of such) is a behavioral psychologist who worked in the field of forensic psychology for a short period of time. Therefore I had the luck to meet with him personally. He liked my idea and his single suggestion was “People do not see the answer when I is right in front of them, if you can use that to your advantage and make the game more, but tastefully, complicated and fun, then you have done a good job. Don’t make an over complicated and ridiculous mystery that people get confused by and can’t keep track of.”

4. You said at one point we could opt out of the fourth activity, and that is what I have done.

5. I could not find many spring break assignments… I must be doing something wrong, sorry about that. But those I did find were interesting, but I had trouble commenting on them, I just didn’t know what to say.

About alizastarfield

There is not much about myself that I would like to publically share. Though I do enjoy the idea of social networking, I still value my privacy. Please do not think that I am uptight, but it seems to me that privacy is becoming more and more rare.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Aliza’s Map

  1. My areas of focus are psychology and behavioral neuroscience. I really have no idea how I should incorporate these interests into my senior project, for I do not know what to do for my senior project.

    Posted by alizastarfield | April 8, 2011, 3:25 pm
  2. Thanks for your thoughts, Aliza ~ let’s start to think about different possibilities, and see where that goes.

    I don’t know much (anything?) about behavioral neuroscience. What makes you interested in it? Specific experiences, or areas of interest (ie learning, language, etc), or .. ? Are you more interested in working in a lab, or in science journalism, or teaching, or practicing some kind of medicine, or .. ?

    I think the project looks different depending on what kind of mediums you’re interested in. If you’re interested in Alzheimer’s disease because of personal experience, then perhaps your project involves working with people who are afflicted by it. If you’re interested in anxiety because you’re wondering what makes our brains “create” those feelings, then perhaps lab work or some kind of study/report might make more sense.

    What do you think?

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 10, 2011, 5:03 pm
  3. I just took another look at your map and have another idea. Are you familiar with http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hikikomori? A number of your interests in your map seem to point toward Japan and “media” (anime, film, art, clothes), and your note in your profile speaks to how you value privacy. I’m wondering if the project might somehow involve a comparison between “eastern” and “western” positions on solitude, privacy, etc, and/or how that’s understood from a psychological standpoint.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 10, 2011, 5:10 pm
  4. After doing the class activity, I realized that I don’t have to do an essay. There are endless mediums at my disposal. Also I realized that I could do something about neurosis or biopsychology, and concentrate on a certain area about behavioral neuroscience.

    Posted by Aliza Starfield | April 10, 2011, 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

