//
you're reading...
art, B, comics, Flow (all posts), maps, psychology

kari’s flow.

interest map.

Hey! My name is Kari, and I’m interested in, well . . . this! I’m currently interested in studying psychology. For my senior project, I’m thinking of some sort of illustrated book covering certain topics in social psychology and criminology, asking the question “why do people do the things they do?” so I’ll be able to relate my area of focus to my life and interests in a concocted sort of way. I like to study culture, actions and behaviour, so I’ll probably aim to make it general and cover all of those topics.

Anyway, I’m excited to see where this goes. Thanks for reading!

UPDATE! April14th2011:
Strange people have strange interests.

Because I have way too many strange interests, I’ve decided to do something a little closer to these interests, and home. That is a comic book.

Now — what in the world does this have to do with psychology? Anthropology? Allow me to explain! I’ll be making a comic book with caricatures/personifications of common social networking websites (FaceBook, Tumblr, Twitter) and group interests and they’ll have personalities developed based off of the cultural summary of each site. Meaning, Tumblr will like photography, blogging about pretentious hipster things and cats, Twitter will talk a lot about irrelevant things that no one really cares about, YouTube will be a Camwhore and 4chan will be a schizo.

Yes, I will have an in depth study of behaviour on those respective sites, use to art represent it and then use the dialogue to incorporate writing! Perfect.

04/28
I was just kidding.

I want to make my project general. I want to make it focus on character designs — introvert-based studies about why certain characters are the way they are. I’ll be using pre-existing and person characters to explain certain archetypes regarding characters.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “kari’s flow.

  1. I think an illustrated book would be very interesting! Especially from a creative person like you. I’m very excited to see your ideas in a book 🙂 looking forward to seeing your projecttttt

    Posted by ariellecifuentes | April 14, 2011, 1:54 pm
  2. Let me start of by saying Ha, “CamWhore”. No but seriously this sounds like a great idea. I like how your using the social medias as characters and how each will have a different persona. For youtube include cats, lolcats,just saying.

    Posted by Marek Smolinski | April 19, 2011, 3:35 pm
  3. Your idea is well thought out. I can’t wait to see your project =)

    Posted by Cindy | April 27, 2011, 8:30 pm
  4. great ideas. It looks like you know what you’re talking about, and its very original.

    Posted by angelicagraziano | April 27, 2011, 8:38 pm
  5. K – love how we can read through the evolution of your thinking here. Re: your last idea, are you referring to fiction? Or characters online? I think you’d mentioned fiction before, but wanted to clarify. Two thoughts: 1) The idea of looking at memes, like Marek suggested, could be really interesting – but not sure if that’s actually where your interests are. 2) Are you familiar with http://web.mit.edu/sturkle/techself/ or http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/23/books/review/Lehrer-t.html ? Alone Together is written by the same person at MIT; her name came up yesterday in a conversation I had yesterday with Mr. Strauss re: your project, and we thought you’d be interested in her work.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 29, 2011, 7:22 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Cindy’s Map :) « Flow // - April 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

