//
you're reading...
adolescents, C, english, Flow (all posts), maps, writing

Stephanie’s Map

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. I’ve recently seen this film titled KIDS which was released in 1995. The film is about this guy named Telly who only wants to have sex with virgin because through that he thinks he can’t get at STD’s. In another scene of girls, they talk about sex and who they have done it with and how they should get tested for any STD’s. When they go, Ruby finds out that she is fine even though she has had sex with multiple guys unprotected. But Jenny finds out that she is HIV positive even though she’s only had sex once. Throughout the film, Jenny tries to find Telly, while he tries to sleep with other virgins. In the film, not only is sex the name topic, but so are drugs. The film shows these kids smoking weed and shoplifting alcohol.

After watching this movie, I was not as shocked because adolescents are like that now and the reason it’s like this today is because drugs and sex within adolescents started back then. The film showed kids that were around 16-17. But in today’s society the children are younger.

2. Recently, while looking for something that resembles what I want to do for my senior project, I came across this author, Antonya Nelson. She is known to write short stories and I read one of them and it was about sex, it talked about how the girl was feeling and it went in depth throughout the conversation between the mother and daughter. This book is called Female Troubles: Stories. The excerpt that I read was called “Stitches” and a link to that is right here –
http://www.powells.com/biblio?show=TRADE%20PAPER:NEW:9780743218726:17.95&page=excerpt#page

3. I emailed Antonya Nelson and now I am waiting for her response.

4.                                  

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Stephanie’s Map

  1. My area of focus was writing, but I honestly don’t know what I want my senior project to be. I haven’t even really started thinking about it and what it even should be.

    Posted by Stephanie | April 10, 2011, 9:38 pm
    • Hey Stephanie ~ what kind of writing are you interested in? Creative writing, journalism, poetry, … ? After taking a look at your map, I’m also wondering what it means to you to “make a difference.” To some people, that means starting a non-profit; to others, it means writing a novel. Can you be more specific about your ideas here?

      Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 10, 2011, 10:43 pm
      • I might be interested in creative writing or poetry.”Making a difference” to me isn’t just a specific topic. It’s just kind of like a general idea, but I know I want to change something to make the world better. Some things I feel strongly about are the way kids these days are growing up because I feel like it’s too fast.

        Posted by Stephanie | April 11, 2011, 10:39 am
      • During today’s activities, while walking around and talking to others about my possible senior project, we came up with an idea that I would compile a bunch of short stories about pre-teens and teenagers that have already done more then what adults have. I would maybe interview teens that have had sex or done weed and I would ask them about why they felt the need to do it when their so young. It would be a creative writing piece with maybe my opinion at the end.

        Posted by margaritaluna | April 11, 2011, 12:02 pm
  2. Whoopsss, that was me who accidently posted on Margarita’s account.

    Posted by Stephanie | April 11, 2011, 12:06 pm
  3. Hey Steph i like what you said about changing the world. I think that kids are growing up too fast these days and im interested to see what you do with that.

    Posted by Alicia Maldonado | April 24, 2011, 12:23 am
  4. Steph I like how you compared children form different time periods and how we have changed over time I think this is a great topic.

    Posted by biancaconcepcion | April 25, 2011, 6:10 pm
  5. Hi Stephanie ~ It sounds like your thinking really evolved over the break. I’m excited to hear about the author! Are you still reading Random Family?

    The idea that young people are ‘growing up too fast’ is quite interesting. I wonder if it’s actually true – that, for example, people are having sex or experimenting with drugs at a younger age than they used to – or if it just appears that way through images in the media and through your own experience with friends, etc. You should look into whether this trend has actually been documented.

    It sounds to me like you’re interested in making something or doing something that sends a message that it’s okay NOT to ‘grow up’ so quickly. It’s intriguing to me that there are teenagers who feel this way because, again, “the media” often portrays teenagers as wanting to grow up quickly (ie, Teen Mom.) I think you could do that in a number of ways – through creative writing, through a website or some other kind of campaign, through a collection of writings that you solicit/collect from other people .. lots of possibilities.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 28, 2011, 12:55 am
  6. Interesting ideas Lu maybe you should go in more on the interviewing teens one, and maybe make a video of it and use it as an add on to your project….

    Posted by benjaminrodriguez2112 | April 28, 2011, 11:38 am
  7. I think the “media” does portray how teenagers today view the world. The media shows what they want you to see, not always what is real. I also feel like somewhat of it is because other people are doing it and you don’t want to feel left out. I would like to do something that still has to do with writing and the idea of collecting pieces of writing from other people would be interesting, but I wouldn’t know what I would be doing out of that.

    Posted by Stephanie | April 28, 2011, 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

