//
you're reading...
adolescents, B, campaign, children, film, Flow (all posts), psychology

BIANCA’S MAP

1. 4/22/11: I watched two DVDs related to my topic dealing with abused children both physicall and mentally. The first movie was Antwone Fischer whichwas about a young bo who was sexually and mentally abused and grew up to be a troubled adult and suffered serious anger issues. the other movie was Losing Isaiah which is about a child who abused prenatally and was a crack baby and his mother threw him away and he suffered all through his grade school years trying to figure out who he was and where he came from. He was very different from other children and was hard to get along with.

2. 4/22/11: I found a campaign that reall caught my interest. http://www.childadvocates.org/. This campaign allows people to go out and help a child by offering different activites to homeless children such as serving dinners and going to do activites with children who were abused and may have no hope. It was hard to find films on what I really want to focus on which is. how abused children end up and the results of abuse. I found many movies but not a lot of people like to talk about there life if they were abused in public.

3. 4/23/11: I found a couple of people to interview about my focus of study my aunt works for ACS and she suggest that I do a variety of different children who have have been abused in different ways to have more information to work with.

4. 4/25/11: I posted my link to facebook and some of the suggestions that I got back was it is really a good topic and very emotional and it may be difficult trying to find people who have been through this situation and are willing to talk. Someone also suggested that I work with children from different racial backgrounds and places all over the world.

5. 4/25/11: I commented on Katherine, Maranda, and Stephanie flows.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “BIANCA’S MAP

  1. My senior project will focus on psychology, maainly developmental psychology. I want to study different places around the world and how the enviornment affects a child’s psychological development. I am thinking of doing a documentry along with paper, or campaign. The outcome will be how can we as people better children’s development who live in less fourtunate countries.

    Posted by biancaconcepcion | April 10, 2011, 7:37 pm
    • Hi Bianca ~ I’m happy you’re in 16 this quarter! It will be interesting to see how that course shapes your thinking re: this idea. The idea of improving child development in other countries will need to be more specific; take a look at http://one.laptop.org/about/mission as an example of a project that aims to do this with technology. One way to make it more specific will be to focus on a specific region or issue (like education for girls in Afghanistan), so think about what intrigues you.

      Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 10, 2011, 10:13 pm
  2. Your idea is very interesting. I think you could try looking more at different ways on how other people are trying to help young and abused children.

    Posted by Cindy | April 27, 2011, 8:11 pm
  3. B – I’m excited about how your idea has evolved. It sounds like the break activities really pushed your thinking forward on the project. What are you thinking about a form/medium at this point? I know you were thinking about film before, and I’m wondering who you see as the audience for the piece. Check out Media Matters (link is in the resources section) for possible inspiration.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 28, 2011, 12:36 pm
    • Ms. Jenkins, after hearing everyones ideas I wanted to focus on why parents commit prenatal and child abuse because both movies I watched I wonder what will make someone do crack cocaine and then throw there baby in the trash like losing isaiah and then I will talk about this affects a child psychological development. I do want to do a video but I will like to create website like a non-profit organization including the film that I will create

      Posted by biancaconcepcion | April 28, 2011, 1:52 pm
  4. Biance, I thought that your topic was really interesting. I wasn’t expecting you to want to do something like this. I feel that your making great progress and you know exactly what your looking for and exactly what you want to do. Nice work.

    Posted by justine serrata | May 3, 2011, 3:48 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Cindy’s Map :) « Flow // - April 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

