//
you're reading...
C, english, Flow (all posts), writing

Emily’s MAP

About Emily

I am currently a college student and a Communications Major who enjoys creative writing and coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. My purpose of writing is for my readers to enjoy and gain perspective from my writing. I write mainly to express myself, but also provide a positive outlook. Other than writing, I enjoy books and exploring different coffee shops and restaurants around my area. Life is all about exploring and gaining perspective. I treat coffee and simple sidewalks of NYC to lead me into eccentric adventures.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Emily’s MAP

  1. My area of focus is English Composition. I’m interested in creative writing. For my senior project I was thinking about writing a script and make my story into a movie, but I’m not quite sure yet.

    Posted by Emily | April 10, 2011, 7:38 pm
    • Hi Emily ~ can you name some examples of stories or films that you’re inspired by? Are you interested in just writing a script, or shooting it as well? What interests you about film?

      Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 10, 2011, 10:03 pm
  2. After talking to my peers, I have decided to write a script about the struggles of a teenage girl’s life and incorporate it into a film.

    Posted by Emily | April 11, 2011, 12:01 pm
    • That sounds great! And I know that Alicia and Stephanie are doing something similar so maybe you guys can trade ideas and stories. Cant wait to see the final product. 😀

      Posted by ske0718 | April 22, 2011, 10:52 am
  3. I can’t wait to read the script and see what you have come up with.

    Posted by Stephanie | April 24, 2011, 1:08 pm
  4. Hey Emily ~ I’m still wondering about whether it’s important to you that it’s actually developed into a film. Filmmaking involves a totally different set of skills from screenwriting, and I almost see these as being separate projects. Please post your spring break assignment ASAP.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 28, 2011, 1:14 am
  5. So I actually changed my idea after I talked to my mentor for suggestions.

    1) Over the break, I actually read parts of Jane Austen’s Pride & Predujice because it relates my new topic which is: investigating the role of Jane Austen’s female character and how the characters differentiate from women in the 21st century. Then, I will write my own fiction piece with a female protagonist that can have similar/different qualities of Jane Austen’s protagonist, Elizabeth Bennett.

    2)Something that would resemble what I want to do would be the book Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen because I want to create a character that is strong and independent like Elizabeth Bennett.

    3)I met with my mentor Jana on Tuesday, and we started to discuss my topic about writing a script and she was sort of confused. So after we kept talking, she asked me if I can read about female writers and do my research proposal on that. We came up with the idea to write about a female character in the 21st century.

    Posted by Emily | April 28, 2011, 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

