//
you're reading...
art, C, children, comics, Flow (all posts)

Cindy’s Map :)

Spring Break Assignments:

1. To help prepare for my project I am reading Making of Comics by Scott McCloud. This book can help me draw a comic. Another book that will help me is To teach the journey, in comics by William AYers and Ryan Alexander-Tanner.

2. An example of what I want my senior project to look can be seen in a manga called Gimmick! written by Yōzaburō Kanari and illustrated by Kuroko Yabuguchi. This manga has a plot; Kohei Nagasi is an special effects (sfx) artist who does freelance work and his skills are needed to help fight crime. It also have some instructional information on how to do some of the special effects in the manga.

4. I posted my link on facebook. My friend comment saying she was confuse about the lesson plan which i clarified for her. There were no other feedback or suggestion. make me sumthing ;3

5. I commented on Bria, Kari and Bianca’s post:  https://thisisflow.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/my-map/#comment-202

https://thisisflow.wordpress.com/2011/04/08/karis-flow-2/

https://thisisflow.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/biancas-map/

About Cindy

~Hello~ ^w^

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Cindy’s Map :)

  1. My interest is education and visual arts. I am thinking of teaching elementary school students. My ideas for my senior projects are creating a lesson plan or a graphic novel. For my lesson plan I still need to figure out what i want to teach (technique, element, or history). I am thinking of doing a lesson on painting, using sponges. For my graphic novels, I am thinking of making it like a manual with a plot. Some ideas for this are how to draw bodies, positions, or movement. The style I am planning to draw is anime.

    Posted by Cindy | April 11, 2011, 11:58 am
  2. I think your idea of teaching a lesson on painting using sponges would be very interesting. I also believe making a graphic novel would be pretty cool too. You have great ideas!

    Posted by Adrian Pichardo | April 25, 2011, 8:43 pm
  3. Hi Cindy ~ The link to Gimmick! was really helpful. So to clarify – you’re thinking about doing an “instructional” graphic novel/comic, and you’re interested in teaching your readers how to draw? The medium is exciting because it’s so distinctive; my biggest question is about how the teaching of drawing would be connected to a the plot. Like, if someone wanted to learn how to draw, why would they pick up your book instead of a “how-to” drawing book? Why would they care about your story? Is reading the story somehow *necessary* for them to learn drawing, or is drawing somehow *necessary* before they can read the story?

    I’m not sure if that makes sense. Let me know – let’s talk in person.

    Posted by Christina Jenkins | April 28, 2011, 1:02 am
  4. I think your idea is very interesting, and a lot of students would love to be involved in a project like this.

    Posted by syrac | April 28, 2011, 12:08 pm
  5. Like Adrian I think it’s really cool what you’re doing. I think you should really talk to Ms. Jenkins about this more because I feel like she could give you great pointers.

    Posted by Jody | May 2, 2011, 1:22 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Adrian’s Spring Break Book Response « Flow // - April 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

